During the Super 4s match in the Asia Cup 2025 between India and Sri Lanka, a perplexing incident occurred in the Super Over, leaving players and fans bewildered. Sri Lanka's Dasun Shanaka was given not out despite what appeared to be a clear run out by Sanju Samson, leading to much confusion and debate. Here's a breakdown of the situation and the relevant cricket laws that explain the decision.
The Super Over Incident
In Sri Lanka's Super Over, Arshdeep Singh bowled a yorker to Dasun Shanaka. The ball missed the bat, prompting an immediate appeal from Arshdeep and wicketkeeper Sanju Samson for caught behind. Umpire Gazi Sohel raised his finger, signaling that Shanaka was out caught behind.
Amidst the appeal and the umpire's decision, Shanaka attempted a run. Sanju Samson, reacted quickly and threw the ball, hitting the stumps directly, with Shanaka short of his crease. The Indian team began to celebrate, believing Shanaka was out, regardless of the caught-behind decision.
However, Shanaka reviewed the caught-behind decision. Replays showed the ball had not made contact with the bat, leading the third umpire to overturn the on-field umpire's decision. Despite being short of his ground when Samson hit the stumps, Shanaka was declared not out.
The Law Behind the Decision
The reason for this decision lies in the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) laws of cricket. According to Rule 20.1.1.3, the ball becomes dead once the batter is initially declared out by the on-field umpire. The rule states that "the ball will be deemed to be dead from the instant of the incident causing the dismissal".
In this case, because umpire Gazi Sohel had already raised his finger for caught behind, the ball was considered dead at that moment. Therefore, any subsequent action, including the run-out, could not be considered a valid dismissal. Even though the caught-behind decision was overturned on review, the ball remained dead from the moment the initial decision was made. Rule 3.7.1 further clarifies that if a Player Review results in an original "Out" decision being changed to "Not out", the ball is still considered to have become dead when the original decision was made.
Confusion and Aftermath
The decision was met with visible confusion and lengthy discussions between the Indian players and the umpire, who explained the law in detail. While Shanaka survived the run-out, his reprieve was short-lived, as he was dismissed on the very next ball. Ultimately, Sri Lanka scored just two runs in the Super Over, a target India chased down with ease.
Despite the controversial not-out decision, the incident highlights the intricate nature of cricket laws and how technicalities can sometimes lead to unexpected outcomes. While the decision sparked debate, it was ultimately rooted in the established rules of the game.