Akash Deep's dismissal of Joe Root on Day 4 of the second Test at Edgbaston has ignited a controversy, with claims that the delivery was a no-ball. The incident occurred late in the day when Akash Deep bowled Root with a ball that clipped the off-stump, sending the English batter back to the pavilion for just 6 runs.
The controversy stems from the legality of Akash Deep's back foot during his delivery stride. According to the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) laws, specifically law 21.5, "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery".
Alison Mitchell, a commentator on BBC TMS, pointed out that Akash Deep's back foot appeared to have landed outside the return crease by approximately two inches. She stated, "The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!". If Mitchell's observation is accurate, the delivery should have been called a no-ball, and Root would have been given a reprieve.
However, former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan countered Mitchell's claim, providing an explanation that Akash Deep's delivery was entirely legal. Pathan asserted that as long as Akash Deep's point of contact was inside the return crease, the delivery is deemed legal, regardless of whether his foot landed on the line or outside the return crease. Ravi Shastri, also in the commentary box, supported this view, stating that the delivery was fair because Akash Deep's foot landed within the return crease.
The debate highlights the complexities of interpreting the back-foot no-ball rule. While the popping crease determines the legality of the front foot, the return crease governs the back foot's placement. If any part of the bowler's back foot touches the return crease during the delivery stride, it should be called a no-ball. The ambiguity arises in determining the exact moment of contact and whether the initial point of contact was inside the line, even if the foot subsequently drags or rotates over it.
Adding to the controversy is the role of the third umpire, whose duty it is to check for back-foot no-balls. In this instance, third umpire Paul Reiffel did not intervene to review the legality of Akash Deep's delivery. This lack of intervention has led to questions about why the technology wasn't utilized to ensure the correct call was made.
Despite the controversy, many fans have lauded Akash Deep for his impressive delivery, with some even calling it a potential "Delivery of the Year". Akash Deep, who was included in the team after Jasprit Bumrah was rested, made a significant impact by taking two of the three English wickets that fell on Day 4. Root's dismissal was a crucial moment, and the debate surrounding its legality has only added to the drama of the Test match.