MCC's verdict on Akash Deep's delivery to Joe Root: Clean bowled or controversial, allegation sparking wicket?
  • 583 views
  • 2 min read

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the recognized authority on cricket laws, has officially weighed in on the controversial delivery by Indian pacer Akash Deep that dismissed England captain Joe Root in the recent Edgbaston Test. The verdict? The delivery was completely legal, putting an end to the widespread debate that had erupted.

Akash Deep's delivery, which clean bowled Root, became a subject of intense discussion after replays suggested that his back foot might have landed outside the return crease, typically resulting in a no-ball. This sparked a flurry of opinions from commentators, former players, and fans, with many arguing that the dismissal was illegitimate.

The heart of the debate revolved around Law 21.5.1, which governs the legality of a bowler's delivery stride. According to the MCC, a fair delivery requires the bowler's back foot to "land within and not touching the return crease". The confusion arose because, while Akash Deep's foot appeared to either hover over or touch outside the return crease upon landing, the determining factor is the point of initial contact with the ground.

The MCC clarified its stance, stating that they have "always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground". Therefore, even if the foot subsequently slides or touches outside the crease, the delivery remains legal if the initial point of contact is within the crease. In Akash Deep's case, his foot made first contact inside the crease, thus validating the delivery.

An MCC spokesperson stated that questions were raised about Akash Deep's delivery to Joe Root, with fans and commentators believing it to be a no-ball. The spokesperson added that while Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no-ball. The MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law.

During the live broadcast, opinions were divided. While former India coach Ravi Shastri confidently asserted the delivery's legality, some English commentators and ex-players, such as Jonathan Trott, expressed their doubts. However, the on-field umpires, Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat, and third umpire Paul Reiffel, did not intervene, allowing the wicket to stand.

The MCC's final verdict clarifies the correct application of Law 21.5.1 and confirms that the umpires made the right call. The dismissal of Root was a crucial moment in the Edgbaston Test, as it reduced England to 50 for 3 while chasing a target of 608. India eventually won the match by 336 runs, leveling the series.

This incident highlights the importance of understanding the nuances within the Laws of Cricket and how they are applied in real-match situations. While visual interpretations can be misleading, the MCC's clarification provides a definitive answer and reinforces the significance of the first point of contact in determining the legality of a delivery.


Writer - Nisha Gupta
Nisha Gupta is a driven journalist, eager to make her mark in the media landscape, fueled by a passion for sports. With a strong academic background in communication and a sharp analytical mind, she excels at research. Nisha is particularly drawn to stories about technological advancements and their societal impact, aiming to deliver insightful, well-rounded reports that inform and engage her audience. Her love for sports also inspires her pursuit of objective analysis and compelling narratives.
Advertisement

Latest Post


The Premier League and EFL seasons are in full swing, with clubs making final adjustments before the transfer window closes on September 1st. Meanwhile, uncertainty surrounds Nottingham Forest, adding another layer of intrigue to the unfolding narrat...
  • 345 views
  • 2 min

The North Zone cricket team has suffered a significant setback as their captain, Shubman Gill, is likely to miss the upcoming Duleep Trophy 2025 tournament. The Duleep Trophy is set to begin on August 28 in Bengaluru. Gill, who recently led India to ...
  • 115 views
  • 2 min

The upcoming Asia Cup 2025 match between India and Pakistan has sparked a heated debate, with former Indian batter Manoj Tiwary expressing strong reservations about the game proceeding in light of recent events. The match is scheduled for September 1...
  • 360 views
  • 2 min

Garry Kasparov, the former world chess champion, has stirred controversy by downplaying D Gukesh's recent World Championship title. While acknowledging Gukesh's victory, Kasparov questioned whether the Indian Grandmaster could be considered the stron...
  • 280 views
  • 2 min

Advertisement
Coleman Wong has etched his name in Hong Kong tennis history by qualifying for the main draw of the US Open. The 21-year-old secured his place with a hard-fought victory over Britain's Billy Harris in the final round of men's qualifying. Wong's achie...
  • 529 views
  • 1 min

Florida Panthers fans received disappointing news as star forward Matthew Tkachuk is set to miss the beginning of the 2025-26 NHL season following surgery. The surgery, which reportedly occurred "a few weeks ago," addresses injuries that plagued Tkac...
  • 505 views
  • 2 min

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has reportedly decided to discontinue the services of team masseur Rajeev Kumar ahead of the Asia Cup 2025. This move marks another change in the support staff, continuing a trend of alterations within...
  • 606 views
  • 2 min

Antoine Semenyo, the Bournemouth forward, has called for stronger action against racial abuse in football, suggesting that prison sentences should be considered as a fitting punishment. His statement comes after he was allegedly targeted by a spectat...
  • 581 views
  • 2 min

Advertisement

About   •   Terms   •   Privacy
© 2025 SportsBuzz360